The Depths of Solitude

“I exist in the depths of solitude
Pondering my true goal
Trying to find peace of mind
And still preserve my soul
Constantly yearning to be accepted
And from all receive respect
Never compromising but sometimes risky
And that is my only regret

How can there be peace
A young heart with an old soul
How can I be in the depths of solitude
When there are two inside of me
This duo within me causes the perfect opportunity
To learn and live twice as fast
As those who accepts simplicity

-Tupac Shakur

This is one of my favorites, especially because I feel I can relate to it quite often. Striving for peace of mind constantly, the wheels are always turning, and very rarely feel like I move anywhere closer to an answer as to what exactly I am looking for. How can you move forward, if you really do not know where you are going? I will not compromise for anything insignificant, a meaningless existence, it is not something I am willing to accept.

For a long time I’ve been wondering what I’m going to do with myself. Of course we all go through these periods, everyone has their ups and downs. But I feel like I’m stuck in a perpetual cycle. I’m a very passionate person when I put my heart into something, but what is it that my heart wants? I am in a constant struggle, a controlled chaos if you will. Sometimes I feel like I am trying to force it, but there is no other way for me.

I am not really sure where I was going with any of this, but I was browsing through some of my stuff, came across the poem and just started writing. This goes to my whole being right now, I really do not know what I want in life, and that is an internal struggle I face every day. So I wonder how can there be peace of mind. I will not stop striving for the answer, but the real question is if I will ever find it.

In The Depths of Solitude - Laura Holloway

In The Depths of Solitude - Laura Holloway

~ by fuelmike on April 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
